Allan William Staley (1867-1913) Upholding the Law

The following was printed in the Riverine Grazier, Friday, 31 August 1894

Free Labourers Arrive at Hay.
Special Constables Sworn In.
The Latest Developments.
Free Labourers joining the Unionists

[O]n Tuesday night, about half-past eleven, a special train arrived at Hay with fifty-four free laborers and two agents of the Pastoralists’ Union on board.  The train was run right into the engine shed and the doors were closed.  There were a number of unionists at the station, and considerable boo-hooing was indulged in.  A few stones were thrown through the windows of the building, but with that exception no demonstration of violence was made.  A body of police were in attendance, under Mr. Inspector Smith, and guarded the shed during the night.  A few minutes after eight on Wednesday morning, four of Cobb and Co.’s coaches (two seven-horse and two five-horse) were drawn up outside the northern railway fence.  The unionists within the railway enclosure, who numbered about one hundred, were ordered to go outside the fences, which order was enforced by the police, who drove the men out. Etc…

On Wednesday a special meeting of magistrates was convened for the purpose of considering the desirability of reading the Riot Act.  The following justices attended:–– Messrs. John Andrew (presiding), A. P. Stewart, A. G. Stevenson, W. H. Barber, W. Travis, N. J. Trevena, and A. Herriott.  At this meeting it was unanimously decided that, in apprehension of a riot, one hundred special constables should be sworn in.  Steps to carry out that decision were promptly taken.  The police magistrate was absent on duty at Booligal, but he returned in the afternoon, and gave in his adherence to what had been done by the honorary magistrates.  Accordingly the nomination of a number of special constables was made.  In all, one hundred and thirty-three summonses were issued.  Some of these were not served, and some of the persons who were served, although liable to a penalty of £20, did not answer to their names.  The names of those who obeyed the summons, and were sworn in, are as follows:–– Patrick Abberton, W. A. Parker, W. Dawson, Charles Brown, W. G. Acocks, Joseph Addicoat, B. H. Andrew, M. Armitage, G. R. Ayre, T. W. Blanche, T. C. Booth, John Britton, J. Broad, H. B. Broughton, W. G. Butterworth, F. A. Byrne, E. A. Champ, F. J. Clancy, H. G. Cockerton, E. Cronk, G. D. Devine, John Donaldson, G. H. Donohoe, Thomas Duggan, J. G. R. Fewings, H. Fynmore, R. M. Galloway, F. Gibbs, S. C. Sorenson, R. Gibson, G. Gill, G. Haines, E. J. Heath, Alex. Henry, J. Hews, C. Hidgcock, W. K. Hoare, J. Jacka, O. Jones, John Karnaghan, W. J. Lloyd, G. Lobb, John McFarlane, J. C. Smith, F. L. Phillips, F. MacIver, R. C. McKinney, J. B. McLaren, H. B. Maclure, T. A. Massie, F. A. Meakes, Geo. Meeson, C. J. Miller, Alex. Moffat, A. A. Monypeny, F. E. Morgan, G. S. Mullen, H. A. Jennings, J. Newton, T. S. Page, John Parsons sen., W. Pope, Henry Proctor, L. Quarttert, J. Rawnsley, A. Reid, J. H. Reid, M. Reid, L. S. C. Robertson, W. O. Russell, G. Sadler, John Sandow, Thos. Sinclair, Allen Staley, V. B. Sylvander, Jos. Taylor, sen., Joseph Taylor, jun., P. B. Terry, J. Thacker, W. Thurgood, E. D. Stewart, G. W. Watt, W. Wheeler, Lindsay Whitehead, T. W. Wood, C. W. York, W. E. Woodward, George Bond, J. P. Markey, F. J. Walker, H. R. Broughton, H. Camper, F. L. Phillips, G. Reid, J. C. Smith, A. Turner, John Parsons jun.

Allen Staley above, is believed to be Allan William Staley, born 1867, Yandoit.